Team Info
Name Ulsan Hyundai FC
Home Kit Colors Blue and orange
Away Kit Colors White with blue stripes
Stadium Ulsan Munsu Football Stadium
Stadium Capacity 44,102
Manager Hong Myung-bo
League Titles Won 2
Link to Official Site

Ulsan Hyundai FC Information

Ulsan Hyundai FC joined the K1 league in 1984. In 2012, the team won the AFC Champions League and again repeated the feat in 2020 to claim their second intercontinental title. Ulsan Hyundai FC have been very consistent with their kit sponsors, so the traditional blue and orange kits have been a hallmark for many years. Their move to Ulsan was due to Hyundai having their headquarters in that city. The ground where Ulsan play their home matches is known as the Ulsan Munsu Football Stadium. The stadium has a capacity of 44,192 and Ulsan are regularly among the top four teams in terms of crowd attendance in the league. The head coach for the 2022 season is Hong Myung-bo, who will want to end Ulsan’s long drought for a league title.

Ulsan Hyundai FC History

Ulsan Hyundai was first formed in 1983 as Hyundai Horangi, joining the K1 league in 1984.They had an excellent debut season and finished in third. The individual highlight for the club was their striker Baek Jong-chul being awarded top goal scorer in their debut season, as he scored 16 goals in 28 matches. Ulsan Hyundai FC is the second of the Hyundai-backed teams in the league, while their counterparts Jeonbuk FC are the most successful team in K1 League. Ulsan have the dubious honour of the most second place finishes in the K-League table at eight. During the 1990 season, the club moved to Ulsan and their name changed to Ulsan Hyundai FC. In the 1991 season, the team finished as runners up but had to wait until the 1996 season before they claimed their first K1 League title. In 1998, they won the Korean League Cup but thereafter a lack of success saw them lose their top players. In the 2002 and 2003 seasons, Ulsan Hyundai FC again finished in second position before finally clinching their second league title in 2005. The team has continued to finish in the top four each season but has failed to add another league title.