John Gregory Wins Coach Of The Year

Chennaiyin FC head coach John Gregory has won the “coach of the year,” at the first ever Association of Indian Football Coaches (AIFC) Annual Awards ceremony held at the DY Patil University in Navi Mumbai, Mumbai, on Tuesday.

The formation and launch of the Association of Indian Football Coaches (AIFC) took place in December 2017, as the game of football became increasingly popular within the country.

The two-day event of the Indian Football Coaches Convention held on 23rd-24th July 2018, was conducted in a unison by the All India Football Federation (AIFF) and AIFC.

The 64-year-old Englishman led Chennaiyin to their second Indian Super League (ISL) Title in March (2017/18), finishing the campaign with an eight-game unbeaten run. The victory also ensured CFC a place in the 2019 AFC Cup.

This was Gregory’s first ever coaching stint in the country and he plans to remain with the two-time ISL champions, chennaiyin signing a one-year extension in March.

“This award belongs to the entire coaching staff, management and everyone else associated with Chennaiyin FC for the fantastic last season,” Gregory said in a video message from London.

“The support of a body like AIFC is extremely important for the entire fraternity of coaches.From all of us at Chennaiyin FC, we would be glad to help the aspiring coaches out there in their endeavours,” he added.

When gambling, it’s important to be able to trust the company you using, find out which have complaints on this page.
List of AIFC Awardees:

AIFC Hall Of Fame: PK Banerjee


Youth League U13 Anthony Andrews, Minerva Punjab FC

Youth League U15: Harpreet Bedi, Minerva Punjab FC

Youth League U18: Bobby Nongbet, Shillong Lajong FC

I-League 2nd division: david Robertson, Real Kashmir

Indian Women’s League: Shukla Dutta, Rising Student Club

Indian Super league- John Gregory Chennaiyin FC

I-League- Khogen Singh Minerva Punjab FC

AIFC Goalkeeping Coach of the Year- I-League: Arpan Dey Mohun Bagan.

AIFC Special Achievement Award- WIFA Maharashtra



About the Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *