Team Info (Table)
Name Incheon United FC
Home Kit Colors Black and blue
Away Kit Colors White and blue
Stadium Incheon Football Stadium
Stadium Capacity 20,891
Manager Jo Sung-hwan
League Titles Won None
Link to Official Site

Incheon United FC Information

Incheon United FC played at the Incheon Munhak Stadium from their debut in 2005 up until 2011 before deciding to move. The stadium was too big for them and did not offer a great viewing experience for fans. In 2012, they moved to the smaller Incheon Football Stadium, which provided a better atmosphere due to its size. Incheon had Puma as their kit sponsor for their first few years, but since then they have changed their kit colors numerous times due to sponsor changes. They have settled on the black and blue as their home kit colors. Incheon will be looking for a major improvement from the beginning of the season to avoid fighting for survival, as they have been finishing in the relegation zone of the K-League table the past few seasons.

Incheon United FC History

The option to form Incheon United FC was first tabled in 2003 by the city of Incheon Council as they sought a football team to use the Incheon Munhak Stadium, which was used for the 2002 FIFA World Cup. Careful planning and securing of sponsors were completed in the same year, and in 2004, the club made their debut in the K1 League.

Their first season in topflight football led to them investing heavily in new players, with Turkish international Alpay Özalan highlighting the recruitment drive as he was signed, moving from English Premier League team of Aston Villa. The team struggled in their first season and finished last in the league. The following year was their golden year, and they had their best ever finish and ended the season in second position. In the following years they never reached these lofty heights again, although there were a few good performances in the League Cup. An individual player highlight for Incheon occurred in 2010 when striker Yoo Byung-soo scored 22 goals in 28 games to become the youngest player to win the Highest Goal Scorer Award for the season.